Soil Moisture Measurement Field Campaign

The SMAP Soil Moisture Measurement Field Campaign has begun! Start collecting and submitting your data now!

Two students look together at a liquid sample.The NASA SMAP satellite team needs your volumetric soil moisture data. We have developed the SMAP Block Pattern Soil Moisture Protocol so that GLOBE students can do just that, collect soil moisture measurements just like the SMAP satellite. With this campaign, we will have webinars, blogs, global shout-outs to the top 3 collecting teams and countries, as well as interactions with NASA scientists and presentations from teacher participants.

Please join us in this exciting campaign!

Collect soil moisture data using the following:

 

Recorded Webinars

Webinar 7 3 May 2016 (11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC): “SMAP Data Products" with SMAP scientist, Dr. Erika Podest. Bowling Green State University Students, led by Dr. Jodi Haney, presented their research on the GLOBE SMAP data collection. Feature are two SMAP videos. Discussion on the transitioning of the SMAP Soil Moisture Measurement Field Campaign to the El Niño Field Campaign.

Webinar 6 5 April 2016 (11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC): How does SMAP use your GLOBE soil moisture data? Guest speakers: Dr. Erika Podest: SMAP scientist, Jeff Bouwman: Teacher at Shumate Middle School in Michigan, USA and Lynn Powers: Teacher at Bozeman High School in Montana, USA.

Webinar 5 1 March 2016 (11 a.m. ET/4 p.m. UTC): “Heading into the Spring Thaw and Global Shout-Outs to all the GLOBE schools/teams collecting SMAP soil moisture data." Guest presenter Dr. Kevin Czajkowski, GLOBE Master Trainer and Professor at the University of Toledo in Ohio, U.S.A.

Webinar 4 Tuesday 2 February 2016 at 4:00pm U.S. Eastern Time (9:00pm UTC). 1 Year of SMAP in Space, What's New, Guest Presenter from Medford Memorial Middle School in New Jersey, U.S.A. and III Osnovna Skola Varazdin in Croatia.

Webinar 3 Thursday 10 December 2015 at 2:00pm U.S. Eastern Time (7:00pm UTC). SMAP Mission Video, Field Campaign Updates, Data Counts, Guest Presenter from Alfred State College, SMAP Scientist Review, GLOBE Program Report.

Webinar 2 Thursday 29 October 2015 at 4:00 pm U.S. Eastern Time (8:00pm UTC). Filed Campaign Overview, Data Counts, SMAP Scientist Review, Guest Presenters from Ramey School in Puerto Rico, Shumate Middle School in Michigan, and Bowling Green State University.

Webinar 1 Thursday 17 September 2015 at 12:00 pm U.S. Eastern Time (4:00pm UTC) and 7:00 pm U.S. Eastern Time (11:00pm UTC). Introduction to the upcoming GLOBE SMAP Soil Moisture Measurement Field Campaign.

Blogs

Stay in touch with the SMAP Soil Moisture Data Collection Field Campaign, by checking out the blogs here!