GLOBE Working Groups


The purpose of the Working Groups (WGs) is to enhance the role of GLOBE U.S. and Country Partners and GLOBE Scientists and Educators in shaping the future of the GLOBE Program and supporting the development and implementation of GLOBE worldwide. 

Four GLOBE WGs have been created composed of community members.  The WGs can have up to eight members; all efforts are made to have each of the six GLOBE regions represented in the groups. The two remaining slots can be filled by At-Large members. If you believe there are topics that the groups should discuss and bring forward to the management of the Program, you should contact your regional representative. If your region does not have a representative at this time, feel free to contact the WG Chair.

IMPORTANT: Working Group members have monthly meetings via Zoom.  This requires a functioning internet connection.  Members are expected to attend at least nine of the 12 monthly meetings over the course of the year. Working Groups also meet at the annual meeting.  To be productive, functional, and representative of their region, members need to fully participate in both the online meetings and any email correspondence each year of service. While a typical term of service is one to three years, members who do not fully participate in the groups, can be asked to step down from the group. 

  Region Member Name Country Email Contact Serving Since
  Education (7)                                                                                                                                                                                 
  Africa Francis Wasswa N. Nsubuga Uganda nwasswa@gmail.com 2016
  Asia and Pacific Binoda Chandra Sabata India bcsabat@yahoo.com 2016
  Europe and Eurasia Diana Garasic Croatia diana.garasic@gmail.com 2017
  Latin America and Caribbean Henry Saunders Trinidad and Tobago henrysau@gmail.com 2016
  Near East and North Africa Yaqoub Yousuf Ali AL-Balushi Oman yy-ab@moe.om 2016
Chair North America Jessica Taylor USA jessica.e.taylor@nasa.gov 2016
At Large North America Lynne Hehr USA lhehr@uark.edu  2018
GIO Liaison   John Ristvey   jristvey@ucar.edu  
  Evaluation (7)                                                                                                                                                                                
  Africa Ylliass Lawani Benin ylliass@gmail.com 2017
  Asia and Pacific Yogendra Chitrakar Sri Lanka yogendra@ecca.org.np  2018
Chair Europe and Eurasia Nektaria Adaktilou Greece nadak@phys.uoa.gr
nektaria.adaktilou@gmail.com
2014
  Latin America and Caribbean Andrea Ventoso Uruguay andrea.ventoso@mvotma.gub.uy 2014
  Near East and North Africa Siham Salman Lebanon siham@afdc.org.lb 2016
  North America Kevin O'Connor Canada koconnor@mtroyal.ca 2014
At Large Africa Lawrence Kambiwoa Cameroon LawrenceKambiwoa@hotmail.com 2017
GIO Liaison   Amy Barfield   barfield@ucar.edu  
  Science (7)                                                                                                                                                                                     
  Africa Olawale Ayodeji Oluwafemi Nigeria walefemi007@yahoo.com 2014
Chair Asia and Pacific Mullica Jaroensutasinee Thailand mullica.jn@gmail.com 2014
  Europe and Eurasia Constantinos Cartalis Greece ckartali@phys.uoa.gr 2017
  Latin America and Caribbean Claudia Caro Peru claudiacarovera@gmail.com 2014
  Near East and North Africa Hameed Sluaiman Oman hanhameco@gmail.com  2018
  North America Margaret Pippin USA m.pippin@nasa.gov 2016
At Large North America Erika Podest USA erika.podest@jpl.nasa.gov 2016
GIO Liaison   Travis Andersen   andersen@ucar.edu  
  Technology (7)                                                                                                                                                                              
  Africa Charles Mwangi Kenya maina.charles@gmail.com 2014
  Asia and Pacific Krisanadej (Kris) Jaroensutasinee Thailand krisanadej@gmail.com 2014
Chair Europe and Eurasia Elzbieta Woloszyńska-Wiśniewska Poland ela@gridw.pl 2016
  Latin America and Caribbean Ana Beatriz Prieto Argentina anabeatrizprieto@gmail.com  2018
  Near East and North Africa VACANT      
  North America Allyson Edwards USA allyson.edwards356@gmail.com  2018
At Large Europe and Eurasia Laura Altin Estonia laura.altin@positium.com 2018
GIO Liaison   Julie Malmberg USA malmberg@ucar.edu