Working Group - Overview

GLOBE Working Groups


In addition to working with scientists, educators, and country partners around the world, GLOBE also collaborates with local community members to develop and implement GLOBE's mission. These teams, or Working Groups (WGs), provide us with valuable feedback on The GLOBE Program and present us with potential opportunities for increasing our global impact. They also serve as an important link between the program and GLOBE communities at large.

Each of our five WGs is composed of up to seven regional members. If there's a topic you think should be discussed by a WG and brought forward to the management of The GLOBE Program, you can contact a WG representative for your region. We strive to ensure that each of our six GLOBE regions maintain representation in our WGs, so if your region doesn't have a current active member, please contact the WG Chair.


Member Requirements

To be a functional and productive member of a GLOBE WG, there are additional expectations and responsibilities that must be met. To be a WG member you must:

  • Have an active account
  • Attend at least 9 of the 12 monthly WG meetings throughout the year
    • Meetings are held via Zoom
  • Have a functioning internet connection
  • Attend and fully engage in the GLOBE Annual Meeting
  • Fully participate during and between online meetings
  • Respond to all GLOBE email correspondences during your service
  • Maintain sufficient written and oral English skills 
  • Maintain an updated My Page, updating at least annually

Important: A typical term of service is one to three years for a WG member. However, a member may be asked to step down from the group if they fail to meet the above requirements.


Current GLOBE Working Groups

Current Members

  Role Region Member Name Country Email Contact Service Years
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI)
  Africa Shadrack Kwaku Agyiri Ghana revshaddy (at) 2021 - 2023
  Asia and Pacific Francis Murillo Emralino Philippines


2021 - 2023
  Europe and Eurasia Marina Pavlić Croatia

mapav18 (at)

2021 - 2023
  Latin America and Caribbean Juan Felipe Restrepo Mesa Colombia

jrestrepo (at)  

2021 - 2023
  Near East and North Africa Nourah Fahad Al Subaie Saudi Arabia

nfnf142 (at)

2021 - 2023
Chair North America Nikitah Imani USA

nimani (at)

2021 - 2023
At Large North America Trena Ferrell USA

trena.m.ferrell (at)

2021 - 2023
GIO Liaison   Grace Crain-Wright  

gcrain (at)

  Africa Francis Wasswa N. Nsubuga Uganda

nwasswa (at)

2016 - 2022*
  Asia and Pacific Rod Allan A. de Lara Philippines

radelara (at)

2019 - 2024*
  Europe and Eurasia Ülle Kikas Estonia

ylle.kikas (at)

2021 - 2023
  Latin America and Caribbean Dario Victor Greni Olivieri Uruguay

dariovgreni (at)

2022 - 2024
  Near East and North Africa Nahid Nail Jamil Ajluni Jordan

najluni (at)

2022 - 2024
  North America Dorian Janney USA

dorian.w.janney (at)

2020 - 2022
At Large, Chair North America Lynne Hehr USA


2018 - 2023*
GIO Liaison      


  Africa Komla Amega Ghana

amega010 (at)

2021 - 2023
At Large Africa Ylliass Destin Lawani Bénin

ylliass (at)

2022 - 2024
Chair Asia and Pacific Yogendra Chitrakar Nepal

yogendra (at)

2018 - 2024*
  Europe and Eurasia Estelle Raynal France

Estelle.Raynal (at) cnes.Fr

2022 - 2024
  Latin America and Caribbean Claudia Rodriguez-Ortega Paraguay bfscparaguay (at) 2021 - 2023
  Near East and North Africa Shahina Masood Pakistan

sheena.masood (at)

2022 - 2024
  North America Eleanor M. Jaffee USA

eleanor.jaffee (at)

2021 - 2023
GIO Liaison   Tony Murphy  

tmurphy (at)

  Africa Peter Rugano Kenya

rugano.peter (at)

2021 - 2023
  Asia and Pacific Josephine Joy Tolentino-Antalan Philippines

jjantalan (at)

2022 - 2024
  Europe and Eurasia Constantinos Cartalis Greece

ckartali (at)

2017 - 2022*
  Latin America and Caribbean Jean Robert Batana Pires Ferreira Brazil

jbatana (at)

2021 - 2023
  Near East and North Africa Hameed Sluaiman Oman

hanhameco (at)

2018 - 2023
At Large North America Marile Colon Robles USA

marile.colonrobles (at)

2022 - 2024
Chair North America Rebecca Boger USA

beckyboger (at)

2019 - 2024*
GIO Liaison   Denise "Skye" Yost  

denisey (at)

  Africa Buba Tamba Gambia

bubatamba (at)

2022 - 2024
  Asia and Pacific Joan Callope Philippines

itravel.iteach (at)

2022 - 2024
  Europe and Eurasia Ieva Kalka Latvia

ieva.kalka (at)

2020 - 2022
  Latin America and Caribbean Ana Beatriz Prieto Argentina

anabeatrizprieto (at)

2018 - 2023
  Near East and North Africa Ahmad Almbaidin Jordan

ahmadalmbaidin (at)

2019 - 2024*
  North America Sara Mierzwiak USA

sara.mierzwiak (at)

2021 - 2023
At Large, Chair Europe and Eurasia Laura Altin Estonia

laura.altin (at)

2018 - 2022
GIO Liaison   Eslam Khair USA

ekhair (at)


* serving a second term