Pole to Pole

Seleccione la palabra "Español", ubicada en la parte superior de la página, para ver el contenido en este idioma.

Seasons and Biomes IPY Pole-to-Pole Videoconference 2008

For a second time, students from Alaska and Argentina will have an opportunity to compare polar climates and environments through a Seasons and Biomes Project Pole-to-Pole Videoconference which will take place on 8 April 2008 at 10:00am–12:00 noon Alaska Time, 3:00–5:00 pm Argentina Time. Students from around the world will be able to join this event for the follow-up web chat and forum on 10–11 April 2008 and the Chief Scientist's Blog discussion.

The videoconference this year is more focused on student research interests and questions about the Taiga and Tundra biomes. The Seasons and Biomes Project is concluding the first year of observations and study of the Taiga and Tundra biomes with a Student Research Campaign. The Research Campaign is designed to engage students in Tundra and Taiga biomes with students from other Seasons and Biomes Project Network schools, with schools in other biomes, and with research scientists conducting research in polar and boreal forest areas.

In preparation for the videoconference, the following presentations about the Esperanza Research Base in Antarctica, and the region, are available: Presentation 1, Presentation 2, Presentation 3. (all ppt)

The videoconference, web chat, and web forum begin Phase 2 of the student research campaign. In this phase, students will be able to discuss their questions and research interests with scientists.

 

A summary of the videoconference is available here.

Follow-up Web Chat, Web Forum, and Blog

Students from around the world will be able to ask scientists questions about current Polar and Boreal forest research, their own research interests, and topics that will lead to successful school/student research projects.

10 April 2008 Web Chat: During 2:00–4:00pm U.S. Eastern Time (12:00 noon – 2:00pm U.S. Mountain Time, 10:00am–12:00 noon Alaska/Yukon Time, 18:00–20:00 Universal Time), students can discuss their questions or ideas with scientists on the Web Chat.

10–11 April 2008 Web Forum: From 10 April at 20:00 Universal Time to 11 April at 23:00 Universal Time, students can post their questions or ideas anytime on the Web Forum. Scientists will answer the questions.

Chief Scientist's Blog Entry: Read about and discuss the videoconference.