GLOBE EVENTS

Asset Publisher


12/15/2020 - 12/15/2020
15 December: Session 3 (of 4) NESEC Air Quality Campaign Webinar Series: “Investigating GLOBE Air Quality from the Ground, to Clouds to Satellites”
15 December, Session 3 (04:00 p.m. ET): “How Do Ground Observations Enhance the Air Quality Story?” Join this session to learn how GLOBE citizen scientists contribute to the overall picture of air quality, and how they use ground measurements from low-cost sensors to complement their GLOBE observations. A NASA scientist will demonstrate how to use the Purple Air visualization map and download PM 2.5 data. Learn how to access the EPA Fire and Smoke Map for more information.  >>

12/10/2020 - 12/10/2020
10 December: GLOBE Mission Mosquito Data Challenge Meet-up
On Thursday, 10 December, at 02:00 p.m. ET (07:00 p.m. UTC), you are invited to join the GLOBE Mission Mosquito (GMM) Data Challenge Meet-up.  >>

12/08/2020 - 12/08/2020
08 December: Trees Around the GLOBE Student Research Campaign Webinar: “Trees are Land Cover!”
The Trees Around the GLOBE Student Research Campaign webinar: “Trees are Land Cover!” will be held on Tuesday, 08 December, at 02:00 p.m. EST (07:00 p.m. UTC).  >>

12/01/2020 - 12/01/2020
01 December: Session 2 (of 4) NESEC Air Quality Campaign Webinar Series: “Investigating GLOBE Air Quality from the Ground, to Clouds to Satellites”
01 December, Session 2 (04:00 p.m. ET): How Do Satellites Add to the Air Quality Story?” What do aerosols have to do with clouds? Join this webinar to hear about NASA’s interest in this topic. NASA scientists will describe aerosols and aerosol optical depth. Learn how to use the GLOBE Visualization tool to look at cloud observations and NASA Terra satellite imagery of Aerosol Optical Depth. Take it further by using more publicly available data to find patterns and events! You will also learn how to use the AerosolWatch site to find satellite images for clouds, aerosols, fires, and smoke.  >>

11/19/2020 - 11/19/2020
19 November: NESEC Webinar: “Get Your Hands on Data”
On Thursday, 19 November, at 2:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. UTC), you are invited to join the NASA Earth Science Education Collaborative (NESEC)/GLOBE Mission Mosquito webinar: “Get Your Hands on Data.”  >>

11/18/2020 - 11/18/2020
18 November: 2021 International Virtual Science Symposium Webinar: “How to Develop a Good Research Question”
Are you getting prepared to dive into the 2021 GLOBE International Virtual Science Symposium? The GLOBE Implementation Office (GIO) will be hosting the following webinar on 18 November (10:00 a.m. MT/12:00 noon ET/05:00 p.m. UTC): “How to Develop a Good Research Question,” (dual language: English/American Sign Language), with Jillian Anderson and Wade Phillips (High School teachers, Lexington School for the Deaf, New York, USA). To join the webinar, click here.  >>

11/17/2020 - 11/17/2020
17 November: Session 1 (of 4) NESEC Air Quality Campaign Webinar Series: “Investigating GLOBE Air Quality from the Ground, to Clouds to Satellites”
17 November, Session 1 (04:00 p.m. ET): “How Can GLOBE Cloud Observations Tell an Air Quality Story?” What can clouds tell us about air quality? Join this webinar to find out how cloud observations provide clues about the air. This webinar will explore how to integrate data from low-cost sensors with GLOBE cloud observations for air quality investigation. Learn from NASA scientists how to make cloud observations.  >>

11/12/2020 - 11/16/2020
GLOBE Website Upgrade In Progress
The GLOBE DIS will be upgraded from November 12th through 16th.  >>

11/11/2020 - 11/11/2020
11 November: Trees Around the GLOBE Student Research Campaign Webinar “Trees: The Lungs of the Earth”
The Trees Around the GLOBE Student Research Campaign webinar “Trees: The Lungs of the Earth,” will be held on Wednesday, 11 November, at 03:00 p.m. ET (08:00 p.m. UTC).  >>

11/11/2020 - 11/11/2020
11 November: 2021 International Virtual Science Symposium Webinar: “How to Create an Effective Scientific Poster”
Are you getting prepared to dive into the 2021 GLOBE International Virtual Science Symposium? The GLOBE Implementation Office (GIO) will be hosting the following webinar on 11 November (09:00 a.m. MT/11:00 a.m. ET/04:00 p.m. UTC): “How to Create an Effective Scientific Poster” (dual language: English/Spanish), with Alejandro Mundo (Climate Change Research Initiative/CCRI Educator/Associate Researcher, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies/GISS, New York City, New York, USA). To join the webinar, click here.  >>