Working Group - Overview

GLOBE Working Groups

The purpose of the Working Groups (WGs) is to enhance the role of GLOBE U.S. and Country Partners and GLOBE Scientists and Educators in shaping the future of the GLOBE Program and supporting the development and implementation of GLOBE worldwide. 

Four GLOBE WGs have been created comprised of community members. The WGs can have up to seven members; all efforts are made to have each of the six GLOBE regions represented in the groups. The one remaining slot can be filled by At-Large members. If you believe there are topics that the groups should discuss and bring forward to the management of the Program, you should contact your regional representative. If your region does not have a representative at this time, feel free to contact the WG Chair.

IMPORTANT: Working Group members have monthly meetings via Zoom.  This requires a functioning internet connection.  Members are expected to attend at least nine of the 12 monthly meetings over the course of the year. Working Groups also meet at the annual meeting.  To be productive, functional, and representative of their region, members need to fully participate in both the online meetings and any email correspondence each year of service. All WG meetings throughout the year (virtual and in person) are conducted in English as the common language across regions. To apply for a WG, each nominee should have good written and oral English skills and the ability to understand situations and scenarios explained in English. While a typical term of service is one to three years, members who do not fully participate in the groups, can be asked to step down from the group. 

Current GLOBE Working Groups

   Region Member Name Country Email Contact Service Years
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) (7)
  Africa Shadrack Kwaku Agyiri Ghana 2021 - 2023
  Asia and Pacific Francis Murillo Emralino Philippines 2021 - 2023
  Europe and Eurasia Marina Pavlić Croatia 2021 - 2023
  Latin America and Caribbean Juan Felipe Restrepo Mesa Colombia 2021 - 2023
  Near East and North Africa Nourah Fahad Al Subaie Saudi Arabia 2021 - 2023
Chair North America Nikitah Imani USA 2021 - 2023
At Large North America Trena Ferrell USA  2021 - 2023
GIO Liaison   Katie Chapman  
Education (7)
  Africa Francis Wasswa N. Nsubuga Uganda 2016 - 2022*
  Asia and Pacific Rod Allan A. de Lara Philippines 2019 - 2021
  Europe and Eurasia Ülle Kikas Estonia 2021 - 2023
Chair Latin America and Caribbean Marta Kingsland Argentina 2019 - 2021
  Near East and North Africa Manal Alsaleh Kuwait 2019 -2021
  North America Dorian Janney USA 2020 - 2022
At Large North America Lynne Hehr USA  2018 - 2021
GIO Liaison   Sarah Parsons  
Evaluation (6)
  Africa Komla Amega Ghana 2021 -2023
  Asia and Pacific Yogendra Chitrakar Nepal  2018 - 2021
Chair Europe and Eurasia Nektaria Adaktilou Greece
2014 - 2021*
At Large Latin America and Caribbean Nadia Bandeira Sacenco Brazil 2020 - 2022
  Near East and North Africa Hanan Al Buflasa Bahrain 2019 - 2021
  North America Eleanor M. Jaffee USA 2021 - 2023
GIO Liaison   Mindi DePaola  
Science (7)
  Africa Peter Rugano Kenya 2021 - 2023
Chair Asia and Pacific Mullica Jaroensutasinee Thailand 2014 - 2021*
  Europe and Eurasia Constantinos Cartalis Greece 2017 - 2022*
  Latin America and Caribbean Jean Robert Batana Pires Ferreira Brazil 2021 - 2023
  Near East and North Africa Hameed Sluaiman Oman  2018 - 2023
  North America Margaret Pippin USA 2016 - 2021*
At Large North America Rebecca Boger USA 2019 - 2021
GIO Liaison   Amy Barfield  
Technology (7)
Chair Africa Charles Mwangi Kenya 2014 - 2021*
  Asia and Pacific Krisanadej (Kris) Jaroensutasinee Thailand 2014 - 2021*
  Europe and Eurasia Ieva Kalka Latvia 2020-2022
  Latin America and Caribbean Ana Beatriz Prieto Argentina 2018 - 2023
  Near East and North Africa Ahmad Almbaidin Jordan 2019 - 2021
  North America Sara Mierzwiak USA 2021 - 2023
At Large Europe and Eurasia Laura Altin Estonia 2018 - 2022
GIO Liaison   Eslam Khair USA