Keep Up With What’s Happening at The GLOBE Annual Meeting in Detroit, Michigan, USA, on Social: 14-18 July


Banner for 2019 GLOBE Annual Meeting in Detroit, Michigan, USA

Can’t make it to the GLOBE Annual Meeting this year? There are a number of ways you can still take part in the events taking place in Detroit, Michigan, USA. Or, are you attending and want to know how you can participate on social media?  Here’s how:

First of all, use and follow the meeting’s hashtag on social media: #GLOBE23

Second, tune in to The GLOBE Program’s social media channels.

Facebook:

Make plans to tune in to the Annual Meeting on  GLOBE’s Facebook all week long with two types of video content sharing: Facebook Live Broadcasts and Facebook “Watch Parties.”

Both of these video formats will allow you to interact with all of the great happenings at the Annual Meeting. Plus, you will be able to interact, comment, ask questions, and give shout-outs to those on screen.  We will be answering your questions LIVE in the comments. 

Here is the schedule:

Facebook Lives:

  • Monday, 15 July:
    • A portion of the GLOBE Annual Meeting Opening Ceremony: between 8:30 a.m. and 9:05 a.m. EDT (or 12:30 p.m. and 1:05 p.m. UTC)
    • Keynote Address by Brian Peterson-Roest: between 12:30 p.m. and 1:30 pm EDT (or 4:30 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. UTC)
  • Tuesday, 16 July:
    • GLOBE Collaborates with the United Nations Environment Programme session: between 4:30 p.m. and 5:00 p.m. EDT (or 8:30 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. UTC)
  • Wednesday, 17 July:
    • Be With GLOBE experience: between 1:30 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. EDT (or 5:30 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. UTC)
  • Thursday, 18 July:
    • Using NASA Earth Observing Satellite Data to Predict, Monitor and Respond to Disease session: between 9:30 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. EDT (or 1:30 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. UTC)
    • Assessment of Water Quality and GLOBE Awareness Programme in Some Parts of Southwestern Nigeria session: between 10:00 a.m. and 10:15 a.m. EDT (or 2:00 p.m. and 2:15 p.m. UTC)
    • Students, Teachers, Citizen Scientists, and NASA Observing the Height of our Planet, One Tree at a Time session: between 10:30 a.m. and 11:45 a.m. EDT (or 2:30 p.m. and 3:45 p.m. UTC)
    • Keynote speaker: Alycia Meriweather: between 6:30 p.m. and 10:00 p.m. EDT (10:30 p.m. and 2:00 a.m. UTC)

Facebook Watch Parties:

Note: All Facebook Watch Parties start at 7:00 a.m. EDT or 11:00 a.m. UTC (except for Friday – see alternate time below) and will last between 10 and 20 minutes long.  

  • Tuesday, 16 July:
    • The 6th Student Research Exhibition and Community Posters
  • Wednesday, 17 July:
    • Students at Howell Nature Center
  • Thursday, 18 July:
    • Sci Act Trainings from Belle Isle
  • Friday, 19 July:
    • Moments from the Banquet: 9:30 a.m. EDT (or 1:30 p.m. UTC)
    • Student Presentations on the Research Experience: 1:00 p.m. (or 5:00 p.m. UTC)

To watch, simply add us on Facebook and plan to check out our page (https://www.facebook.com/TheGLOBEProgram/) for this special daily video content from the Annual Meeting.

Instagram:

Add us on Instagram to view daily stories from Detroit. You can also share your #GLOBE23 stories with us by tagging us on your story (just use @globeprogram). We will share your stories on our account throughout the week!

Twitter:

Be sure to also follow us on Twitter to join in the conversation and happenings.

Pictures:

You can view and share pictures taken by photographers at the event by going to our photo album throughout the week (at https://www.globe.gov/globe23). Download and share these with your friends and family.

For more information about the Annual Meeting, agendas, and More, visit: https://www.globe.gov/news-events/meetings_symposia/annual-meetings/23rd-annual-meeting



News origin: GLOBE Implementation Office


Comments

Please log-in to post comments